Skip to content

LEAVING DIBLEY

August 16, 2011

My mother isn’t well. The phone call from her doctor told me she had had a mild TIA (stroke) and that living alone was no longer an option. My brother has his hands full taking care of my father. There was no alternative. I had to go back to Florida to take care of mom.

That’s where I am now. In Florida. In the heat. In the summer. Wasn’t that why I left Florida? As John Lennon once sang: “Life is what happens when you’re making other plans.”

I had ten glorious months in South Wales. I made some lovely friends. Ate gorgeous food. Sat spellbound looking out at my mountains. Fell in love with baby sheep. And was surrounded by the sweetest people I had ever met.

But for now, my mother needs me. We sit on the sofa and talk. Her long-term memory is sharper than I’d ever known; it’s only words pertaining to yesterday’s Oprah show that seem to melt into the puddle of her short-term memory. She picks at her food but takes her tablets like a good girl.

Mom looks forward to seeing her doctor, having her physical therapy and spends her days lying on the sofa watching one reality show after another. She knows all about the Kardashians. Is on a first-name basis with the Housewives of New Jersey, Atlanta, Beverly Hills and, of course, New York. The ladies on “The View” wait for her to tune in. And then there’s “Oprah.” Mom said goodbye to Oprah’s show, but not until I taped at least 25 episodes from this last season. We watch them together, over and over again.

My job is to take care of my mother, so the hills of South Wales will have to wait for me to return. But unlike my forefathers who set sail from Wales to America almost 400 years ago, I won’t wait that long before coming back. When you see a crazy driver in a rickety old blue car tooling down the road on the “other” side, smashing into bushes and driving over curbs, you’ll know I’ve returned! Hyd nes y byddwn yn cyfarfod eto…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Jaffe permalink
    August 16, 2011 11:03 pm

    You need to interpret the Welsh (I assume) at the end! Your mom is lucky to have you and Paul will just have to fend for himself in the meantime. We in Florida are glad to have you back for a while…….

  2. August 17, 2011 1:51 am

    I think neither condolences nor congratulations are in order or perhaps both. It sounds as if there is sadness and joy in your comments. Best wishes here or there.
    Pat

  3. Sharon permalink
    August 17, 2011 2:24 am

    If you want a break or a cup of coffee or a glass of wine, give me a call. Sorry to hear about your mom.

  4. August 17, 2011 9:44 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your mom, Jann. I hope she recovers enough to allow you to go back to Wales soon. My mom is in Florida too, and going back there would be my worst nightmare. Be strong. Big hug…

  5. Sal Davis permalink
    September 2, 2011 7:38 am

    I’m sad I’ve only just seen this. Sad that your mum is poorly, sad you have had to leave us and sad that you’ve had to endure the ferocious heat in Florida. But you are where, for now, you need to be. I hope everything goes well for you and your mum makes a speedy recovery. And when she is better you will be welcomed back to Dibley.

Leave a Reply

